Year 7 – Year 9
Developing independence and responsibility
show me other year levels
About the program

The move from primary school to secondary school is important for students and marks the start of their middle school journey which, continues from Year 7 through to Year 9.

The curriculum framework builds on everything that is learnt in primary school. Educators emphasise an individualised approach to learning and introduce students to greater responsibility by increasing their course load and giving them more freedom to customise their studies to suit their curiosity.

The subjects they explore are outlined in the Australian Curriculum and Curriculum Framework.

  • The Arts comprising Dance, Drama, Media Studies, Music, Photography and Visual Arts
  • English
  • Health & Physical Education
  • Languages other than English – Japanese
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Technology & Enterprise, comprising Design & Technology, Home Economics and Information Technology
Learning through experience

TAS continues to be one of the highest-ranked schools in Queensland based on a range of results, student achievements and enrichment opportunities also known as co-curricular programs.

Co-curricular opportunities are available outside of the Australian Curriculum and take place during breaks and before or after school. They aim to extend and develop each child’s academic skills and are an outlet for exploring their curiosity.

Students with special interests, talents and abilities are catered for within our range of academic enrichment, specialist and elite programs. In more recent years, these clubs have included:

  • Coding, Robotics, Drones, Digital technologies and Esports
  • Debating
  • Chess Coaching
  • Tutoring Assistance Program and Peer-Support Tutoring
  • Electives and Competitive Academics